Share with friends:

The Brunel International African Poetry Prize is a major annual poetry prize of £3000, aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa. Now in its sixth year, the Prize is sponsored by Brunel University London and supported by the African Poetry Book Fund.

British-Nigerian writer, Bernardine Evaristo, Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University London, initiated the award in 2012 in order to revitalise African poetry, which at that time was almost invisible on the literary landscape. The Prize planned to draw attention to this poetry and to encourage a new generation of poets who might one day become an international presence.

The Prize works closely with the African Poetry Book Fund (APBF) and since its inception, most of the poets who have been nominated and/or won this award have published chapbooks with the African Poetry Book Fund series of ‘New Generation Chapbook Box Sets’.

Prizes To Be Won:

  • £3000

Eligibility & Rules:

General Rules:

  • The prize is open to African poets, defined as those who were born in Africa, or who are nationals of an African country, or whose parents are African.
  • The prize is open to African poets who have not yet had a full-length poetry book published. Self-published poetry books, chapbooks and pamphlets are exempt from this stipulation.
  • Only poems written in English are accepted. Poems translated into English are also accepted with a percentage of the prize going to the translator.
  • The prize opens for submissions from October 1st 2017 to December 1st 2017. Each entrant must submit 10 poems to be eligible, no more and no less. There is no stipulation as to the content of submitted poems but no poem should exceed 30 lines in length.
  • The poems may have been previously published or won previous awards.

Poems Rules:

  • Under no circumstances can alterations be made to poems once entered.
  • Under no circumstances will the organisers or judges enter into discussions with entrants who have submitted for the prize.
  • The prize organisers reserve the right to not award the prize if, in the judges’ opinion, such an action is justified. 
The organisers also reserve the right to split the prize if they decide that more than one poet is worthy of it.
  • The judges’ decision is final and they will not enter into any correspondence with entrants regarding their decisions.

Winner Rules:

  • The winner must be available via email to reply promptly to correspondence. The winner will be required to provide a biography and photograph and to be available for media interviews, either online, by phone or, if geographically possible, in person.
  • It will be helpful if the winner has or creates a social media presence but this is in no way a condition of winning the prize.
  • The copyright of the winner’s poems remains with the winning poet.

How To Participate:

  • Poems must be the original work of the entrant.
  • Each poem must have a title or a number
  • Poems should be single spaced.
  • There is no stipulation regarding font type and size.
  • Poems must be emailed in a SINGLE Word document attachment (not PDF) – with an index cover page that contains the entrants’ name, nationality, country of birth, full address including country of permanent residence, personal email address and telephone number.
  • The submission document must be name of the poet, not the name of the prize.
  • The entire submission must be written with black ink, no colours.
  • Individual poems received as separate file attachments and poems sent within the body of an email will be automatically rejected with no notification to the poet.
  • People who have entered previously for the prize can re-submit again but it is advisable to re-submit with new poems. People who have previously been shortlisted for the prize, or won the prize, can re-submit but only with new poems and only after they have skipped one competition year since making the shortlist and/or winning. So if a poet was shortlisted in 2016, s/he cannot re-enter the prize until 2018.


Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Telegram

Deadline: 30 Nov. 2019. The shortlist is announced in March & the winner in May 4th 2020.

READ: British Council #IdeasChangeLives Challenge 2019 (Win £20,000 + One Year Full Support)

Apply; All entries must be submitted via email only to [email protected] Africa Poetry Prize

Share with friends: